Marlon’s Wedding

Hallo

I’ve finally had some time to sit down and sort through my photos.  I’m now looking through stuff I should gone through 8 months ago. 

anyway, over the summer I had the opportunity to assist my best friend Julius (JMIII) (www.gunsbitchesandweed.wordpress.com) for a wedding.   Julius’ friend since childhood Marlon, was getting married and Julius agreed to be the photographer.  It was great working for Julius, because he told me exactly what he wanted, and I kinda knew how to get it for him.  He wanted to shoot the wedding in a photo-journalistic style, not your nomal posed and prepped style.  We did have formal shots that are essential to wedding photography, but we were also taking photos the entire time we were there.  In most of the shots I took, I didn’t ask anyone to pose.  Julius wanted a natural, personal feel to our work, so to achieve that we went in a different direction. 

I have to say, this was one of the greatest learning experiences of my life.  To give a little background, I’m a very hands-on type of person.  Telling me how to do something will get different results from showing me how to do something or letting me figure it out.  That is precisely what I had to do.  I had to figure it out.  Julius gave me minimal guidelines that acted more as recommendations, never restricting me from what I thought was best.  I basically was on my own for most of the day, making my own judgements about each situation that arose. 

It was my first time working a wedding, and it felt great to have the amount of autonomy that I was allowed.  The freedom allowed me to work under pressure and even better, to learn from my mistakes.  I learned more about photography from the mistakes I made that day than all my days of photo class combined.  The reason for that is due to the practical knowledge I obtained, the stuff they simply can’t teach in a classroom because it can only be found by practicing in the real world.  I can’t really thank him enough for letting me tag along.

Well, below are the photos I thought came together to create a good photo story or photo essay.  I am really proud of how they turned out, (thanks to Julius for that, he did all of the editing) I consider these (as a whole) to be some of the best work I have ever produced to date.  The reason I say that is because I felt that I actually became part of the events, or part of the wedding.  I wasn’t just the photographer, a random observer, I was involved in every shot.  Nothing felt awkward or obtuse, the people in the pictures felt so comfortable with me that I became part of their natural surrounding. 

For me that was what I was most nervous about before the wedding.  That for some reason or another, I thought I would come off as awkward or imposing to the people I was trying to photograph.  Part of that most likely grew out of the fact that I only knew the groom, and only as an acquaintance through Julius.  But that changed the moment I met everybody.  They welcomed me to share in the experience of the wedding, and then everything went smooth from there on.  All in all it was a great experience, I am so glad I went.

So here they are:

getting-the-bride-ready.jpg

getting-the-groom-ready.jpg

waiting.jpg

getting-married.jpg

and the ring is?

first kiss

picture-taking.jpg

new-family.jpg

the-bride-and-groom.jpg

marlon-garter-throw.jpg

boquet-throw.jpg

So there you have it.  My first Wedding Assignment.  But it turned out to be much more than that.  I took away much more from that experience that I could ever give back to them.  I just hope the happy couple is pleased, I have yet to hear any feedback from them

Till next time, I’ll see ya when I see ya.

Leave a comment

Filed under black and white photography, photography, Photos, wedding photography

Leave a Reply

